Same-Sex Marriage Bans Lifted by Supreme Court

June 26, 2015 became a historical day when the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in a 5-4 vote that denying same-sex marriages is unconstitutional. This was the final outcome of a long-standing legal battle between lead plaintiff James Obergefell and the Ohio Department of Health, which President Barack Obama has declared, “justice that arrives like a thunderbolt.”

According to the case summary, it was ruled that “The right to marry is a fundamental right inherent in the liberty of the person, and under the Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment couples of the same-sex may not be deprived of that right and that liberty.”

Further, this ruling lifts all existing bans on same-sex marriage. The 14 states that previously did not grant or recognize same-sex marriage are now required to do so under the Fourteenth Amendment. County clerks across the nation have already begun issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples.

States that were affected by this ruling include:

  • Ohio
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Louisiana
  • Tennessee
  • Alabama
  • Georgia
  • Arkansas
  • Mississippi
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Nebraska
  • Most of Missouri